Press

12.02.2018

CAC wins order for turnkey plant in Spain

CAC CUF
Note for press: The theme-related image shows as a motive: CAC builds a turnkey chlor-alkali electrolysis plant in Spain. (3D Animation: CAC)

 

Chemieanlagenbau Chemnitz GmbH builds a turnkey chlor-alkali electrolysis plant in Torrelavega in the North of Spain for the Portuguese company CUF-Químicos Industriais S.A.

The new plant is based on the modern, energy-efficient and environmentally friendly membrane electrolysis process of Asahi Kasei Chemicals Corporation in Japan. In about two years, after its completion, the plant will replace the mercury-electrolysis plant, which was shut down in 2017.

With an expected production capacity of 68,000 tons a year of chlorine, CUF, Portugal's largest chemical company, intends to strengthen its leading position in the Iberian market for chlorine and chlorinated derivatives.

"We are very proud that CUF has given us main responsibility for all stages of the order fulfilment," said Mike Niederstadt, CEO of CAC. "This order will strengthen our many years of experience as an EPC company in the international competition for major strategic projects."

In addition to the membrane electrolysers based on technology from Asahi Kasai, the scope of services and supplies includes brine preparation (filtration, softening, iodine removal, ammonia removal), caustic evaporation as well as a sodium hypochlorite unit.

CAC is responsible for basic and detailed engineering, procurement of all equipment and bulk materials, construction and installation services, construction and installation supervision as well as advisory services during commissioning.
The family-owned company CUF-Químicos Industriais S.A. is the largest Portuguese producer in the chemical industry. At the end of 2017, the company acquired parts of the chlorine factory in Torrelavega from the international chemical group Solvay and is investing 55 million Euros in these production facilities as well as in the construction of the modern chlor-alkali electrolysis plant.
 

Standby Server

Presse

12.02.2018

CAC erhält Auftrag für schlüsselfertige Anlage in Spanien

CAC CUF
Hinweis an die Presse: Das themenbezogene Bild zeigt als Motiv: CAC errichtet schlüsselfertige Chlor-Alkali-Elektrolyseanlage in Spanien. (3D-Animation: CAC)

 

Die Chemieanlagenbau Chemnitz GmbH errichtet für das portugiesische Unternehmen CUF-Químicos Industriais S.A. eine schlüsselfertige Chlor-Alkali-Elektrolyseanlage in Torrelavega, im Norden Spaniens.

Die neue Anlage basiert auf dem modernen, energieeffizienten und umweltfreundlichen Membran-Elektrolyseverfahren von Asahi Kasei Corporation in Japan. Sie soll nach Fertigstellung in etwa zwei Jahren die 2017 stillgelegte Anlage auf Quecksilberelektrolysebasis ablösen.

Mit einer zu erwartenden Produktionskapazität von 68.000 Tonnen Chlor im Jahr verspricht sich CUF, Portugals größtes Chemieunternehmen, seine führende Position auf dem iberischen Markt für Chlor und chlorierte Derivate zu stärken.

„Wir sind sehr stolz darauf, von CUF die Gesamtverantwortung für alle Phasen der Auftragsrealisierung erhalten zu haben“, erklärt Mike Niederstadt, Geschäftsführer der CAC. „Mit diesem Auftrag stärken wir unsere langjährigen Erfahrungen als EPC-Unternehmen im internationalen Wettbewerb um strategische Großprojekte.“

Neben den Membran-Elektrolyseuren nach Asahi-Kasei-Technologie gehören die Soleaufbereitung (Filtration, Enthärtung, Jod- und Ammoniakentfernung), eine Natronlaugeeindampfung, sowie eine Natriumhypochloritanlage zum Liefer- und Leistungsumfang.

Die CAC realisiert in Eigenverantwortung das Basic und Detail Engineering, die Beschaffung aller Ausrüstungen und Bulk-Materialien, Bau- und Montageleistungen, die Bau- und Montageüberwachung sowie Advisory-Services für die Inbetriebnahme.
Das Familienunternehmen CUF-Químicos Industriais S.A. ist der größte portugiesische Produzent in der Chemieindustrie. Ende 2017 hat es Teile des Werkes in Torrelavega von der internationalen Chemiegruppe Solvay erworben und investiert 55 Millionen Euro in diese Produktionsanlagen sowie in den Bau der modernen Chlor-Alkali-Elektrolyseanlage.