Press

21.09.2015

Construction of a new membrane electrolysis for Neolyse Ibbenbüren GmbH at AkzoNobel site Ibbenbüren

CAC has been awarded a contract by Neolyse Ibbenbüren GmbH - a production joint venture of Evonik and AkzoNobel - for the performance of EPCM services as general contractor for a new membrane electrolysis to be constructed at the AkzoNobel site in Ibbenbüren, Germany. The official signing ceremony took place on August 20th, 2015 already. The contract includes Detail engineering, procurement services, site management and commissioning support up to the performance test run of the plant.

The membrane electrolysis in Ibbenbüren will have an annual production capacity of 130,000 tons of caustic potash and 82,000 tons of chlorine. After the start of production, which is scheduled for the fourth quarter of 2017, AkzoNobel takes over the marketing of chlorine and hydrogen produced in the plant or will process those products directly at the Ibbenbüren site.

Evonik will take on the caustic potash for marketing and for further processing at the Evonik site Lülsdorf. In Lülsdorf, Evonik processes caustic potash, among other.

Licensor for the electrolysis technology will be Asahi Kasei Chemicals, Japan, which already was the technology partner of CAC for various projects, such as in Russia and Austria. Ashai Kasei Chemicals was also responsible for the provision of the membrane technology to the AkzoNobel sites in Delfzijl and Rotterdam.

The conversion of the existing mercury-based plant to the energy-efficient membrane technology will increase the efficiency and environmental sustainability and ensure compliance with future legal requirements.

"Our long-standing experience in the construction of chlor-alkali projects, our current references for plants producing caustic potash and the successful performance of the Basic Engineering were key to the decision of Evonik and AkzoNobel to entrust us with the construction of the plant on the basis of an EPCM contract", reports Jörg Engelmann, Chairman of the Board of Management at CAC.

Standby Server

Presse

21.09.2015

Neubau einer Membranelektrolyse für die Neolyse Ibbenbüren GmbH am AkzoNobel Standort Ibbenbüren

CAC ist von der Neolyse Ibbenbüren GmbH – einem Produktions Joint-Venture von Evonik und AkzoNobel als Generalauftragnehmer für  EPCM-Leistungen für eine am AkzoNobel Standort Ibbenbüren neu zu errichtende Membranelektrolyse beauftragt wurden. Am 20. August fand dazu die offizielle Vertragsunterzeichnung in Ibbenbüren statt. Der Planungsauftrag umfasst das Detail Engineering, die Einkaufsleistungen, das  Baustellenmanagement sowie die Unterstützung während der Inbetriebnahme bis hin zur Leistungsfahrt der Anlage.

Die Membranelektrolyse in Ibbenbüren soll eine Jahreskapazität von 130.000 Tonnen Kalilauge sowie 82.000 Tonnen Chlor haben. Nach  Produktionsstart, der für das vierte Quartal 2017 vorgesehen ist, übernimmt AkzoNobel die Vermarktung von Chlor und des bei der Elektrolyse  anfallenden Wasserstoffs oder wird diese Produkte direkt am Standort Ibbenbüren weiterverarbeiten. Evonik übernimmt die Kalilauge zur  Vermarktung und zur Weiterverarbeitung am Evonik-Standort Lülsdorf. Evonik verarbeitet Kalilauge in Lülsdorf unter anderem zu Kaliumcarbonat  (Pottasche) weiter.

Lizenzgeber für die Elektrolysetechnologie ist Asahi Kasei Chemicals, Japan, welche bereits für Aufträge u.a. in Russland und Österreich Technologiepartner für CAC war und für die AkzoNobel Standorte in Delfzijl und Rotterdam gleichfalls für den Einsatz der Membrantechnologie verantwortlich zeichnet.

Die Umrüstung der bestehenden Anlage auf Quecksilberbasis zum energiesparenden Membranverfahren steigert die Wirtschaftlichkeit und die ökologische Nachhaltigkeit und sorgt für die Einhaltung der entsprechenden zukünftigen gesetzlichen Vorgaben.

„Unsere langjährigen Erfahrungen bei der Realisierung von Chloralkaliprojekten, unsere aktuellen Referenzen für Aufträge mit  Kalilaugeproduktion sowie die erfolgreiche Realisierung der Basic Engineering Phase waren ausschlaggebend dafür, dass Evonik und AkzoNobel uns mit der  Anlagenrealisierung auf Basis eines EPCM-Vertrages beauftragt haben“, berichtet Jörg Engelmann, Sprecher der Geschäftsführung bei CAC.

Standby Server